Skip main navigation

Area Plan

Area Plan

The Area Plan for United States and Canada

            In a letter dated November1, 2016, Elder L. Whitney Clayton of the Presidency of the Seventy announced the Area Plan for United States and Canada. Canada is served under the direction of 3 Areas of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: North America Northwest Area, North America Central Area and North America Northeast Area. Along with the other areas of the Church in North America, we have accepted this inspired 5-year plan.

            The plan focuses on the divinely appointed priorities of living the gospel of Jesus Christ, gathering Israel through missionary work, caring for the poor and needy and enabling the salvation of the dead. (See Church Handbook 2: Administering the Church: Chapter 2, Section 2.2).  We encourage you to study the plan as individuals and families. As we participate in this inspired vision, we will become, and help others become true followers of Jesus Christ and enjoy the blessing of the holy temple.

(A copy of the Area of Plan accompanies this article to be used individually, with your family and in your units and callings in the Church.)

Faithfully yours,

Elder Donald L. Hallstrom (Presidency of the Seventy)

Elder Ulisses Soares (Presidency of the Seventy)

Elder Gerrit W. Gong (President of the Seventy)

Elder Michael R. Murray (North America Northwest Area)

Elder G. Lawrence Spackman (North America Central Area)

Elder James E. Evanson (North America Central Area)

Elder Alain L. Allard (North America Northeast Area)

Download PDF version of the Area Plan

2017 Area plan english
2017 Area plan english Pg 2